Allan Lloyd Smith Prize 2022

Announcement of Longlist

The International Gothic Association is delighted to announce the longlist for this year’s Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize. 


Megen de Bruin-Molé. Gothic Remixed: Monster Mashups and Frankenfictions in 21st-Century Culture. (Bloomsbury)

Jonathan Greenaway. Theology, Horror and Fiction: A Reading of the Gothic Nineteenth Century. (Bloomsbury)

Anya Heise-von der Lippe. Monstrous Textualities: Writing the Other in Gothic Narratives of Resistance.(University of Wales Press)

Bridget M. Marshall. Industrial Gothic: Workers, Exploitation and Urbanization in Transatlantic Nineteenth-Century Literature. (University of Wales Press)

Leila Taylor. Darkly: Black History and America’s Gothic Soul.(Repeater Books)

James Uden. Spectres of Antiquity: Classical Literature and the Gothic, 1740-1830. (Oxford University Press)

Sara Wasson. Transplantation Gothic: Tissue Transfer in Literature, Film, and Medicine. (Manchester University Press)

Many congratulations to the authors who have been nominated. The judging panel for the Prize will announce the shortlist in due course, which will be published on the IGA’s website.

The Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize will be presented (or, if a winning author or editor is not present, announced) during the 2022 IGA conference, which, this year, is hosted in late July by Trinity College, Dublin

The Chair of this year’s Prize is Professor Dale Townshend (Manchester Metropolitan University). The judging panel consists of Dr Joseph Crawford (University of Exeter), Professor Isabella van Elferen (Kingston University London), Professor William Hughes (University of Macau), and Professor Angela Wright (University of Sheffield).