The Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prizes for Gothic Criticism 2019

Call for nominations by February 22nd

In 2011, as a memorial to its founding President Dr Allan Lloyd Smith (1945-2010), the International Gothic Association established a prize to be awarded for a scholarly publication considered to have advanced the field of Gothic studies significantly. For the 2019 incarnation of the award we are delighted to announce that there will be two Prizes of £100 each: one for a standout monograph published on the Gothic over the last two years, and another for an edited collection published over the last four years.

We are now accepting nominations for either category. For the current round of nominations, monographs published over the last 24 months (i.e., from January 1st 2017 to December 31st 2018) and edited collections published over the last 48 months (i.e. from January 1st 2015 to December 31st 2018) are eligible.

The deadline for nominations for the prize is 22nd February 2019 and you may nominate one book for each category.

Nominations may be submitted only by individual members of the IGA, though nominated works do not have to have been published by a member of the Association. Short articles, individual chapters in longer volumes, original fiction and poetry are not eligible, though scholarly (i.e., introduced, annotated and resourced) editions of Gothic texts may be considered.

Two panels of past Presidents and winners will assess the nominations before drawing up the respective shortlists that will be published on the IGA website. The panels reserve the right not to make an award in their category should no nominated work satisfy the criteria of the Prize. Ultimately, the panels will advise the serving Joint-Presidents of their decision prior to the IGA conference, which, this year, is hosted in late July by Lewis University, Illinois.

The Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prizes will be presented (or, if a winning author or editor is not present, announced) during the conference.

Nominations should be sent to Dr Matt Foley, Secretary to the Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize for Gothic Criticism, via e-mail: Please note that self-nominations will not be accepted.