The Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize 2017: Shortlist

Please find below the shortlist for the 2017 Allan Lloyd Smith Memorial Prize for Gothic Criticism.

Derek Gladwin, Contentious Terrains: Boglands, Ireland, Postcolonial Gothic (Cork: University Press, 2016)

Timothy Jones, The Gothic and the Carnivalesque in American Culture (Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 2015)

Marie Mulvey-Roberts, Dangerous Bodies: Historicising the Gothic Corporeal (Manchester: University Press, 2016)

Paulina Palmer, Queering Contemporary Gothic Narrative: 1970-2012 (Houndmills: Palgrave Macmillan, 2016)

Francesca Saggini, The Gothic Novel and the Stage: Romantic Appropriations (Abingdon: Routledge, 2015)

Gina Wisker, Contemporary Women’s Gothic Fiction: Carnival, Hauntings and Vampire Kisses (Houndmills: Palgrave Macmillan, 2016)

The winner will be announced at the International Gothic Association conference in Cholula, Mexico in July.

Many congratulations to those scholars who have been shortlisted!

The judging panel for the prize is as follows: David Punter (Chair), Joseph Crawford, William Hughes, Sara Wasson, Sue Zlosnik.

The prize administrator is Matt Foley: